Our Response to His Presence, Part 1: Our Change of Posture in His Presence

“When Abram was ninety-nine years old the LORD appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; walk before me, and be blameless, that I may make my covenant between me and you, and may multiply you greatly.” Then Abram fell on his face…”
– [Genesis 17:1-3a ESV]

In this passage we read where God appeared to Abraham and gave him one of the most significant prophetic words of his life. This word that God gave Abraham changed every aspect of his life but two things specifically: 1. his posture in God’s presence and 2. his character in God’s presence. In verse 3 we read that when God appeared to Abraham and started speaking to him, it’s instant response was falling on his face. There were a couple of reasons Abraham responded the way did:
1. The Profoundness of the Presence of God
2. The Weight of the Word of God

1. The Profoundness of the Presence of God
I’ve been listening a lot to ‘O Holy Night’. It’s one the few songs, I believe, that capture the proper response to the holiness, as well as the presence of God. “Fall on your knees, O hear the angel voices.” What a beautiful line. What a profound reaction to the birth of our Lord.
There have been times where the presence of God has been so thick on me that I’ve laid on the floor in the middle of a worship service and done nothing short of weep and when it was possible for me to speak, the only thing that came out was my prayer language. In the words of Jason Upton, in his song ‘In the Silence’, “Sometimes there is no language, no language but a groan, sometimes there is no language, no language but a cry.” I have encountered the presence of God at times when I have been broken to a place where I can no longer do anything but worship. There was absolutely no choice anymore. I have learned that when God shows up He leaves you no options. There’s no other choice sometimes but to worship Him. That’s why God’s grace is irresistible.

2. The Weight of the Word of God
I think it’s interesting that God only shares with Abraham the introduction to full prophetic promise and the effect of that part of the promise alone made Abraham want to fall on his face. The weight of what that promise carried, I believe, humbled Abraham and left probably thinking thoughts like, “Who am I that my seed should multiply as the stars of the heavens?” The thought of that truly humbled him. After he had fallen on his face God continued speaking to him (v. 3b-14) because he responded correctly to the weight of the word. There are times in our lives where God speaks us and promises us something and the weight of the word leaves us with no choice but to be humbled by it.

I hope this has blessed you and encouraged you in some, way, shape, or form.

“The LORD bless thee, and keep thee: The LORD make his face to shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”
– [Numbers 6:24-26 RV]

Author: RevLoganDixon

25. Male. Simul Justus et Peccator. Ordained Minister. Libertarian. Musician. Thinker. Dreamer. Coffee-drinker.

Leave a Reply

