Deep Refreshing

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God. My soul is cast down within me; therefore I remember you from the land of Jordan and of Hermon, from Mount Mizar. Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your breakers and your waves have gone over me. – [Psalms 42:5-7 ESV]

Just these verses, to me, reveal so much about God. David was discouraged. He was in exile longing to be in Jerusalem. He was in a place where, a lot of times, we find ourselves: in captivity. Maybe not in a physical captivity but we are, at times, caught in a binding stronghold feeling like we can’t get out. I don’t know, I might be the only one who’s ever felt this way. I’ve felt like I was in the same cycle over and over again. I’ve felt like I was slipping up over the same sins over and over again. I’ve felt trapped wondering, ‘When will all of this end?’

But out of all those times, God was still calling out to me. He was still reaching for depth inside me not because I’m anything special because I’m not. I’m a totally depraved human being, but when God saved me He put in me something that could that bring life to dead situations and that something is the Holy Spirit, the third person of the Godhead. No matter what you’re going through you can always depend on the comforting and strengthening power of the Holy Spirit to lead, guide, and direct into all truth and all righteousness.

The reason God calls out for that depth is because when He looks at you, as a believer, He sees that same Holy Spirit and knows the potential that He placed inside you to overcome.

I love what David said in the second part of verse 7: “…all your breakers and your waves have gone over me.” For those you who don’t know: water is usually represented in the Bible as the Holy Spirit because John 7:38 says:

Have faith in me, and you will have life-giving water flowing from deep inside you, just as the Scriptures say. – [John 7:38 CEV]

So, when I read Psalm 42:7 I imagined being so hot and thirsty, and this huge wave of cool refreshing pouring down over me and I realized that that’s how the Holy Spirit brings refreshing to us when we need it the most.

I hope this has blessed and encouraged you in some way, shape, or form.

“The LORD bless thee, and keep thee: The LORD make his face to shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”
– [Numbers 6:24-26 RV]

Author: RevLoganDixon

25. Male. Simul Justus et Peccator. Ordained Minister. Libertarian. Musician. Thinker. Dreamer. Coffee-drinker.

Leave a Reply

