Don’t Waste the Hot Water

“Pray at all times in the Spirit with every prayer and request, and stay alert in this with all perseverance and intercession for all the saints.” – Ephesians 6:18 (HCSB)

For those of you who know me well, know that I pray the most when I’m in the shower. It seems like that’s the only time that I can get alone and with God. (Besides, he’s not afraid to see me naked. :P) Over the past few weeks, I’ve noticed that I have a problem. It seems like I have an ADD prayer life. I get in the shower and I’ll start praying, and then I’ll start thinking about something else. Maybe not something that’s bad, but something that steals my attention. I can’t seem to focus when I pray. When I get in the shower, I use u all the hot water because I want to stay in there longer with just me and God, and when I get distracted I waste the time that I have thinking about other things. Maybe you’re reading this and you have this same problem. You may spend 30-45 minutes in your prayer time with only 3 minutes of actual prayer and the rest of time just thinking because your mind got distracted. Honestly, I don’t know how to fix this problem because I don’t even know I’m doing until I feel the cold water run down my back and I realize I’ve wasted the hot water on issues that don’t mean a thing when compared to eternity. I challenge you today, as I challenge myself also. Don’t waste the hot water. Don’t waste your prayer time being distracted. I realize that it’s easier said than done. Pray for focus. Pray for guidance. Pray for God to bring issues to your attention that need prayer and consideration. Time is a depleting resource to those of us on this side of the veil. Don’t let it go to waste.

Author: RevLoganDixon

25. Male. Simul Justus et Peccator. Ordained Minister. Libertarian. Musician. Thinker. Dreamer. Coffee-drinker.

Leave a Reply

