Knowing and Praying the Will of God

“And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.” – [Colossians 1:9-12 ESV]

Lately I’ve been thinking about the will of God for my life. I’ve been praying and earnestly seeking Him about some decisions that have to be made, and while I was working on my commentary for Colossians I kept coming across these verses and it occured to me, God’s will for my life isn’t some big mystery that He wants to hide and let me go off on a wild goose chase to find. I would even dare say that it is the father’s good pleasure to share His will with His children for their lives. I believe that God not only wants to share His will with us, but He wants us to want His will. For those of us who have been in church for forever and a day, this sounds like an elementary concept, but the fact is there are people out there who are really trying to figure what God wants for them and they are having a hard time figuring it out because we often make out to be this angry guy living in the attic of the universe ready to strike someone down for even thinking about the word ‘sin’. I was raised under the impression that if I didn’t say the blessing over my food then God would allow it to be poisoned and kill me for being an unthankful wretch. People who are under this impression need to know that God is more merciful and loving than that. He has a deep love for all us and longs for us to know what He has in store for us. As a matter of fact, He even wants us to pray for His will.

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; so neither can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same beareth much fruit: for apart from me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned. If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatsoever ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; and so shall ye be my disciples.” – [John 15:4-8 RV]

Normally, I’m an ESV man, but in John 15:7 the ESV uses the word, ‘wish’. The word ‘wish’ to me has almost a fairy tale meaning. As one who studies the Greek, I’m not sure that Jesus was implying that God is like a fairy godmother that grants wishes, but rather He is a loving and generous Father and care-giver that gives us the desires of our heart (Psalm 37:4).

I love John 15 because it shows us that we will know the will of God for our lives if we continue to abide in Him. What a profound thought that knowing the will of God is a direct result of abiding in Christ.

I want us to look now at Psalm 34:7 and see what exactly God is speaking to us through the psalmist.

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” – [Psalms 37:4 ESV]

What’s interesting about this verse is that it doesn’t mean that if you make yourself happy in God, He’ll give us a nice Lincoln or a big house if that’s what your heart desires. It actually means that God will give you the desires of your heart, if your submit yourself to Him.

The Hebrew word for ‘delight’ that is used here is ‛ânag which means ‘to make soft or pliable’. A more accurate translation would be ‘Make yourself pliable before God, and He will give you the desires of your heart.’ When you make yourself pliable before God He can mold you and make you. When He begins to mold you and make you, He often changes the desires of our heart so when God is changing our desires, we begin to want what God wants and then when we pray for what God wants, He gives it to us, because He knows what is best for us.

“The desires of God and the desires of the righteous, agree in one; they are of one mind in their desires.” – John Bunyan

I hope this has blessed you and encouraged you today.

Author: RevLoganDixon

25. Male. Simul Justus et Peccator. Ordained Minister. Libertarian. Musician. Thinker. Dreamer. Coffee-drinker.

Leave a Reply

