The Lord Guides The Heart

“The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; he turns it wherever he will.” – Proverbs 21:1 (ESV)

“John, to the seven churches which are in Asia: Grace to you and peace from Him who is and who was and who is to come, and from the seven Spirits who are before His throne, and from Jesus Christ, the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler over the kings of the earth. To Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” – Revelation 1:4-6 (NKJV)

When we were saved, we were brought into a kingdom, but we weren’t just brought into the kingdom, we were made into a kingdom. If you were to read Revelation 1:5b-6 in the English Standard Version, it says,

“To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood 6 and made us a kingdom,priests to his God and Father, to him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

The ESV actually emphasizes in verse 6 that we were made into a kingdom. We could go on and on and talk about how in 1 Peter 2:9 talks about how we are a chosen generation and a royal priesthood, but the point is because Jesus is royalty we were made into royalty by his blood so that makes us kings and priests unto God.

I’ve prayed about things that I feel that God wanted me to do and honestly, I just didn’t want to do it. I wanted to obey God, but I didn’t want to do specifically what he was asking me to do and so I said, “God, I want to obey you, but my heart isn’t in this. Will you please change my heart to do what you would have me to do?” Then one day, he brought me to Proverbs 21:1. My pastor had been teaching a lot recently on our identity as kings and priests and so when I read how that the king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord, I immediately identified that with myself. I may be a king, but Jesus is the King of Kings and so I humbly serve and humbly live under His kingdom and lordship. God has the power to change my heart and yours to do his will.

Philippians 2:12-13 (ESV) tells us,
“Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, 13for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.”

Take a good look at verse 13 because that’s where verse 12 ties together. Verse 12 tells us to work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. Verse 13 tells that we can only work out our own salvation with fear and trembling because God works in us to will and to work for His good pleasure. So, God has to mold and transform our heart in order for us to do His will because God is a gentleman, He will never force Himself in you, but He will change your heart to where you do want Him and want His will.

I hope you have a blessed day today. Thank you for reading and following.

Author: RevLoganDixon

25. Male. Simul Justus et Peccator. Ordained Minister. Libertarian. Musician. Thinker. Dreamer. Coffee-drinker.

Leave a Reply

